I read Ever After very slow, studying each page. I consider Karen Kingsbury a great author, one I’d like to emulate. Studying her style over a lifetime wouldn’t bring me close to understanding how she writes such moving stories. Her grasp of people, their personalities, conflicts and inner thoughts are so realistic. The depth of her writing brings the story into the real world.
 
In the book’s description, the reader is warned of a tragedy that will occur. It wasn’t difficult to figure out who or how, but the when was a mystery. Yet, as the time came, turning each page became more difficult. I didn’t want it to happen since I’d grown very fond of the character. The “what” of the tragedy remained hidden.
 
I’m not one to shed many tears, but with this book, they flowed on many occasions. When I thought it couldn’t hurt any deeper, it did.
Another great thing about this book: God spoke to the characters. Christianity was presented in an everyday way. Not at all religious.
 
Several years ago, I met an Iraqi lady. She had just moved to the United States. It made the war in Iraq personal. Mayassa was so grateful for America. Ever After made the Iraqi war personal showed the good the American soldiers did in Iraq. I know it’s true because I have friends that fought in Iraq who testified to the same things Karen wrote in Ever After.
 
Quotes I loved from the book: “Democracy will win in the end,” Justin Baker, Soldier.

“Some things were worth defending.”

Amazon
Ever After (Lost Love, #2)My rating:5 of 5 stars

View all my GoodReads reviews

 

 

Randy Tramp

Amazon Review:

It’s a military thriller with a heart. Commander Mark Steele has an exciting job in Special Forces. Though it’s dangerous, he knows his work is critically important. But that job separates him from his wife and child. When an injury brings him home, his wife is glad to have him back. But other issues cause struggles within the family, leading to distrust and hurt. Steele takes dangerous risks in his new work. The thriller plot thickens, as he seeks to save a life. But can he save his family?

Purchase:  E-Book   Book

Join me on my other sites:

Snippets

Write Away

Book Reviews

 Google Plus Instagram Linked In Pinterest Tumblr Twitter Word Press You Tube Travel with Randy


Join me at randytramp.com. Subscribe and receive updates. 

YouTube  (Travel with me: Videos helping you find your greatest expression.)
YouTube (Family) Kids and Comics