The weather was a perfect nice 70 degrees. But I wasn’t outside, I was inside the YMCA. The weather was cold and the ones I loved was at my Mom’s house. We were separated. I knew no one at the “Y” in person but knew them all because we were in the same situation. Navy guys unable to go home for Thanksgiving. I had my ten dollar roll of quarters and waited in anticipation to make my call. I and Kim talked for one hour. That is the only hour I remember that day. But it was an hour that even now brings tears to my eyes. I don’t know what we talked about but I remember that phone call like it was yesterday. Even the silence at the end was so precious, not wanting to end our conversation. Not wanting to be separated on a day when family’s are together. I would not trade that memory, for today is more special because of that day so many years ago.

